Stopping readers dead

Think about the last time you flipped through a magazine or a newspaper, or you surfed the Web. If an article didn’t grab your attention in a couple of seconds, did you stop to read it? 

Here’s an example from Smithsonian online that stopped me dead and sucked me right into the story before I knew what was happening: 

Cy Twombly’s Scattered Blossoms 

One rainy Friday afternoon in 1964, a 24-year-old Richard Serra, then wrapping up his studies at Yale, hopped a train from New Haven to New York City. Upon arriving, he headed uptown, to an East 77th Street townhouse, where he first encountered the work of Cy Twombly. “They gnawed at me,” Serra has said of the paintings he saw that day at Leo Castelli’s gallery. “I couldn’t forget them.”

  Fabulous.

2 thoughts on “Stopping readers dead

  1. When I saw the title of this blog post, I thought it was going to be about something else entirely. One of my long-standing pet peeves is the slogan that Raid used (and maybe still uses) for one of their roach sprays: “Kills Roaches Dead.” Because what other way would you kill them?

Leave a Reply

